New remastered edition of an audio tape recorded in 1985 by Compagnie Amarillis (artistic direction: Cécile Laye). 

Now this second Chestnut album is available only for download on Bandcamp: 


Album 2 – Le Choix d’Amarillis





Categories: ,


Chestnut Le Choix d'Amarillis

Album 2 – Le Choix d’Amarillis

The player above allows you to hear every song on the album – click on “play” (4), “forward” (:) or “backward”(9). To buy a track or the full album for download on Bandcamp: click on “buy”.

19 tracks : 

  • The Cuckoo
  • Nonesuch ou “à la mode de France”
  • Le Basque
  • Black Nag
  • Upon a Summer’s Day
  • The Mary and Dorothy
  • Hunsdon House
  • Sellenger’s Round
  • Freeford Gardens
  • Jenny Come Tie My Cravat
  • Lady Banbury’s Hornpipe
  • Confess
  • Adson’s Saraband
  • Parson’s Farewell
  • Nonesuch 2
  • Newcastle
  • Saint Martin’s
  • Graies Inne Mask
  • Paul’s Steeple


The musics of this 2nd Chestnut album correspond to the dances described in the brochure 2 – Le Choix d’Amarillis (FR) (in French only for the moment).

Although we recorded this 2nd album a long time ago, these 19 titles drawn from different editions of John and Henry Playford have aged well. Nine titles are played on a quartet of modern instrument while the other ten are played on old instruments. This difference of treatment allows for much variety … and it feels good for the dancers. Cécile Laye, May 2020

Social Network Widget by Acurax Small Business Website Designers
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube